Going in Circles

I went out today to plant a daylily in front of the hedge.  I try to plant something every day because plants really, truly do much better in the ground than in those black plastic pots.  So, in order to plant the daylily, of which I have a surfeit at present, I pulled out an anonymous, but lovely, bergenia which had spent the winter living in a ceramic pot and only got planted in front of the hedge in the last two weeks anyway.  Then, in order to plant the bergenia in its new location, I pulled out a cardamine which was being swamped by a low spruce, and three heucheras.  Some volunteer columbines, anemones and hellebores came out in the process.  The cardamine was planted in another bed, where I pulled out a large variegated London Pride, which I replaced with a smaller (but blotchier–this is a good thing in this plant) version, so that I could also fit in the cardamine.  As I was planting these I noticed a small hydrangea that I had dug out and placed, but not planted, a few days before.  These are heavy feeders, so off to collect manure and a spade (up to this point a trowel had sufficed).  The area around the hydrangea was quite weedy, so I diverted to pulling weeds for a while so that I would not be dooming the plant before it even had a decent chance.  In no time I filled a ten-gallon bucket with weeds, and returned to planting.  The hydrangea got in, also the London Pride, the cardamine and a couple of cushion saxifrages I found languishing upside down in a gallon pot.  I have forgotten where these were from, originally, because they have been sitting in their pot for weeks.  In order to re-plant the larger, less blotchy London pride I next had to evict two other cardamines from the location where they had been planted approximately two weeks ago.  These went off to flank the bergenia in its new location (where, remember, I had just taken out another cardamine at the start of this process).  All three got planted.  An omphalodes that was crowded got moved, and a hosta that looks as though it is made of plastic got pulled to be banished forever.

The three heucheras are in a plastic tub with their roots hanging out.   The daylily remains unplanted.

This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

